The Tao Way

Who Am I

My name is Antonio Torres. I grew up in the western part of the US for the very beginning of my life and later moved to the eastern state of Ohio. I was born into a very physical family with my Mother being a professional Ballet, Hip-Hop and Jazz dancer / teacher, and my Dad teaching everything from power tumbling to martial arts.

What Do I Do

I am a movement practitioner. Now, what does this word mean? It means I am obsessed with movement and all its facets. It doesn’t matter what discipline I am learning, if there is a good teacher, I will put all my effort into exploring, researching and taking what I can from the practice/teachers.

 

My Background

Beyond my obvious background with my parents, I began quite young (at the age of 7) practicing folk-style wrestling. For those that aren’t familiar with this sport, this is a sport that tries to break you physical and mentally. Practices are long, the coaches are fierce and the competition is heavy. I practiced this discipline for 10 years until I was 17 years old. During the end of this span of time (around 13 or 14 years old), I began to realize that I wasn’t obsessed with wrestling, I was obsessed with learning, moving and finding areas that challenged me. At this time, I began to practice disciplines such as parkour, Jeet Kune Do, Silat, Kali, Acrobatics, Gracie Jiu Jitsu, Rock Climbing and more. Originally, I thought that the disciplines themselves were what I loved. It was only much later that I learned it was the ‘cloud’ and not the ‘dust’ that I was after.

My Teachers

I have had many teachers. Some good, some bad and some that have influenced my life so greatly that I can only repay them by practicing to the best of my ability. My early teacher was my mother and later turned into my Jeet Kune Do and Jiu Jitsu teacher, Chris Hoy, my wrestling coach, Todd Haverdill, my rock climbing mentors Kyle Bichler and John Nguyen, my movement teachers Johnny Sapinoso and Odelia Goldschmidt and many more.

My Formal Education

Beyond my education with the various teachers above, I do have a formal education with a Bachelors of Science in Exercise Physiology. My main research was done under a fantastic professor named Dr. James Kingsley. This research went into different strength training methodologies, muscle fiber composition and heart rate/breathing regulation. 

My Life Mission

I believe that if you truly love something, it should be what you spend most of your free time doing. I love the quote by Bukowski, “Find what you love and let it kill you.” I practice, research, and devote myself to the practice of movement for 6+ hours a day, everyday. I wish to also give others access to this practice through various mediums including online and in-person coaching. I want to share the idea of movement to as many people as possible. Move always, move more!

-Antonio

I now offer ONLINE SUPPORT, WORKSHOPS and FREE resources through my YOUTUBE and INSTAGRAM. Feel free to search around and if you like to get in touch you can email: info@taowaymove.com